Transferring an existing domain name entails changing the domain name registrar that handles the domain registration service, so after the transfer, you’ll have to manage things like renewal fees or DNS record updates through the new domain name registrar. The transfer procedure itself is standard with most domain name extensions. Certain country-code extensions are more specific and involve different procedures, but in the general case transferring a domain involves a few necessary steps and one of them is unlocking the domain. The lock is a security option, which is being adopted by more and more domain registry operators. It’s a standard feature supported by all generic Top-Level Domains. If a domain is locked, it will not be possible to start a transfer process, so nobody can even try to snatch your domain name. The lock can be annulled only through the account where the domain name is registered and all new domains that support this functionality are locked by default when they are registered.
Registrar Lock in Website Hosting
The Hepsia Control Panel, which comes with each and every website hosting plan that we offer, will grant you full authority over your domains. You will find all domains registered through us conveniently displayed in alphabetical order in a separate Control Panel section. Those whose extensions support the domain lock option will have a mini padlock icon on their right. By clicking the icon, you can find out if the given domain is locked or unlocked and you can alter the current status by clicking again – the procedure is as straightforward as that. You will not have to wait for the change to take effect or for our company to do anything, as the status change takes effect immediately, even if you notice something else on WHOIS lookup sites. After all, it takes time for such websites to update the information that they display.